2010 International Accordion Festival

This past weekend was the 2010 International Accordion Festival at La Villita on the Riverwalk in San Antonio.  This is a festival my wife has been wanting to attend for years, and unfortunately I have never taken the initiative to make it happen.  For me when I think of accordion festival it does not conjure up fantastic images of great music and superb live performances.  In fact I envision a street full of accordion players all vying for any attention they can get from passersby.  I think the key word I was overlooking is International.

Staged at la Villita, this is a festival that packs in huge crowds, and contrary to my anticipation the music is outstanding.  Pushing our way through the crowd we found ourselves catching the tail end of The Caleb Klauder Country Band with their Cajun honkey tonk sound.   Next up was Solas, and their Celtic tunes kept us entertained well into the night.  Some of the best live music we have heard since Alison Krauss was last here.  Lesson learned, and as usual Sarah is always right.

2010 International Accordion Festival

Leave a Reply

