A clever trick to mimick $1,900 lenses

I was browsing through my photo files and came across some images I shot back in January.  At the time I was playing with a combination of off camera high speed flash sync and freelensing, which I have posted on before.  Since I was mainly testing the high speed flash sync for off camera use I didn’t really do anything with the images at the time.  I reviewed and filed them for later use.

I think freelensing is an interesting techniques, and it works very well for imitating the same look and feel of tilt shift lenses.  Of course the control and result is much less predictable than a true tilt shift lens.  I plan to implement the technique in future shoots on a limited basis, but mixing it with off camera flash creates an additional element of difficulty.  I like the challenge.  Let me know in the comments what you think of the results.

freelensing and off camera flash in high speed sync

2 thoughts on “A clever trick to mimick $1,900 lenses

  1. I think it’s good that you’re trying different techniques out. It helps you grow as a photographer. Too many photographers, in my opinion, rely to heavily on post-processing techniques (photoshop) in regards to the creativity aspect of photography. I think it would be beneficial to find a better balance between editing techniques on the computer and different ways of using the camera and light in the field to come up with that unique shot.

    The image you have posted is good. Then again, I almost always favor B&W images over the rest any day. Great composition and use of the light.

  2. I really don’t know what any of your blog post is about but I’m glad you haven’t had to buy a $1500 lens. And I’m glad you have that picture of Hannah. And I know that I would be glad if you printed it off for me and put it in a frame. 🙂 hahaha

    I do like that you have a picture with your post. It’s really great and I think it makes the post more interesting!

Leave a Reply

