Two distinct features of the Ferrari 599 GTB; not what you might think.

There are two distinct impressions made by this exotic; the incredible smell of the leather, and the undeniable sound of the engine.  That may seem rather odd since I could go on about the gorgeous sleek lines of the body, and the unbelievable power this vehicle generates.  The car instills confidence in the driver, I could see how you could get into trouble real quick by driving with a lack of restraint.  This is a tight, solid, racing machine, that begs to be driven hard.

Ok, back to the real world, there is no financial way for me to get spoiled, so it is time to return from fantasy land.  Big thanks to Aj though, for allowing me to dream and play, even if I did show a heavy dose of restraint.  The goal was to get some practical shots of the car, in case it goes on the sales block, and a more selfish goal of some stunning artistic images.

I arrived  with about an hour and a half to go before sunset.  Aj and I had decided to shoot the Ferrari in the area of his house since there are some spectacular sunset views.  We hopped in the car, really there is no hop to it since you are nearly sitting on the ground, and headed off to a nearby ridge that overlooks Bulverde.  A note of caution for anyone riding passenger in a Ferrari; be prepared for the owner to glue you to the seat as he romps on the accelerator.  Because he is going to stomp on the accelerator, refer back to the “restraint” comment if you don’t believe me.

The ridge was perfect so we headed off to fuel up and get back to the house for some detail shots.  The shots were pretty straight forward with some additional lighting to pull out detail of the interior, engine compartment, and accessories.  I took a shot of Aj coming up the road with some additional off camera flash for fun.  Then we loaded up my gear and headed back over to the ridge.  Along the way Aj pulls over and jumps out, telling me it’s my turn.  Holly cow, seriously!  Remember the “restraint” I mentioned?  It doesn’t take much to realize it is a tight handling, solid racing machine.  Yes I showed a good dose of restraint, yes it is one fine high performance ride.

Perfect timing, the sun was just setting, as I pulled up to the top of the ridge, but it meant I had to work quickly.  We got the Ferrari positioned and I set out my lighting where I thought it would be most effective.  I fired a couple test shots, decided to throw an umbrella on my main light and fired about 6-7 more frames.  At that point Aj wanted me to get some standard panel and details shots before we lost all our ambient light.  Check, with those taken care of we shot a few more various images before turning the Ferrari around and changing the setup.

I cranked out a few more shots with the sunset in the background then I swung around to shoot from the front.  I quickly changed up the lighting, added AJ into the scene, and got a few more stunning images.  Ok, right, I know what you are thinking, and yes it is hard to take a “bad” photo of this car.  From every angle it looks powerful, and it is.  Here are some of the images we created, which will open into larger versions if you click on them.

Ferrari 599 GTB detail and sunset images

Ferrari 599 GTB detail and sunset images

Ferrari 599 GTB detail and sunset images

Yes tha’s me driving…I had to include it, and kudos to Aj for the good shot.

Ferrari 599 GTB detail and sunset images

Ferrari 599 GTB detail and sunset images

Ferrari 599 GTB detail and sunset images

Ferrari 599 GTB detail and sunset images

My absolute favorite photo from the evening, below.

Ferrari 599 GTB detail and sunset images

Ferrari 599 GTB detail and sunset images

Ferrari 599 GTB detail and sunset images

Leave a Reply

